Davis Faculty Association

Archive for April, 2009

Survey #3 – First Administrator Evaluation

The DFA has begun conducting regular surveys of UC Davis faculty. Our first survey asked faculty if they thought UC Davis should use the upcoming change of Chancellor to strike out in a new direction. That survey resulted in significant coverage in the Davis Enterprise. Our second survey, which asked faculty what characteristics the campus should look for in its new Chancellor, resulted in an invitation to DFA officers to speak to the search committee. Now for our third survey.

The members of the faculty of the university are regularly evaluated by each other, by students, and by administrators. The latter group is not truly evaluated by anyone other than the Chancellor. The DFA believes that administrators should be subject to a regular evaluation by the faculty. With the current turn-over in personnel at the highest level of the administration, it is not useful at this point to evaluate the Chancellor or the Provost. However, the Office of Research and Graduate Studies are two administrative units that have a major impact on the research and teaching activities of the faculty. Our web survey offers the faculty an opportunity to evaluate their performance and to offer constructive suggestions that can be provided to our new Chancellor.

We are only mailing this message to members of the DFA but would like all faculty to participate. Please feel free to forward this message to invite your colleagues to participate in this survey.

(The survey is no longer available as data collection has been completed.)

News article in SF Chron about UC Pension Fund Losing 1/3rd of Its Value

The San Francisco Chronicle published an article that discusses the health of the UC Retirement Plan. An excerpt follows:

UC pension fund lost third of its value in 2008
by Jim Doyle, Chronicle Staff Writer
Thursday, April 16, 2009

According to an Investment Performance Summary prepared for UC’s
governing Board of Regents, which oversees the pension plan, the
retirement fund shrank from $47.85 billion at the end of 2007 to about
$31.7 billion at the end of 2008.

The losses come at a time when the university’s employee groups are
demanding joint governance of the pension fund, insisting on public
disclosure of how the fund’s assets are being managed and questioning
the plan’s long-term viability.

The performance of the UC Retirement Plan during the first quarter of
this year has not yet been made public, but market conditions suggest it
probably wasn’t good.

Read the full article at: http://www.sfgate.com/cgi-bin/article.cgi?f=/c/a/2009/04/16/BAE6173738.DTL

Nash Prize Dinner on April 27, Reservation Deadline Extended

by Lyn Lofland, 2008-2009 Chair, Nash Prize Committee

Were you planning to attend the Nash Prize dinner but then realized that the deadline for reservations had passed? Good news! Places at the Nash dinner are still available and the deadline for payment has been extended to next Tuesday (at which point, we need to give the caterer a final count).

Given Charlie Nash’s importance to this organization, a the strong presence of DFA members at the dinner would be an especially meaningful tribute to his legacy.

Making reservations is easy. Just follow the instructions in the enclosed “reminder” memo that was sent to all Senate members on April 6.

Board Elections

It is time to renew the DFA board. In accordance with DFA bylaws, a nominating committee has selected the following slate of candidates to fill DFA board positions as listed below with the following code (C – continuing for one more year; RE – re-elect for 2-year term; E – elect for two-year term). Thank you very much to the nominating committee — Alan Jackman, Doug Nelson, and Thomas Beamish — for their work.

Chair: Ian Kennedy (Engineering) [C]

Colin Cameron (Economics) [E]
Norma Landau (History) [RE]
Lyn Lofland (Sociology) [RE]
William Lucas (Plant Biology) [E]
Kathryn Radke (Animal Science) [C]
Robert Rucker (Nutrition) [C]
Richard Scalettar (Physics) [RE]
Saul Schaefer (Med: Cardiovascular Medicine) [E]
Pieter Stroeve (Chemical Engineering and Material Science) [E]

Ex-Officio: Joe Kiskis (Physics)

All nominees have agreed to serve. Their two-year terms of office will run through academic year 2010-2011. Further nominations may be made upon petition of 5% of the membership (15 members) in good standing as of April 1, 2009. Such petitions must be delivered on or before April 28, 2009 to the Executive Director at 1270 Farragut Circle, Davis, CA 95618. If no nominations are submitted, the slate shall be accepted as elected.

We thank Terrance Murphy, Peter Rodman, Jeanette Money and Daniel Link for their past service on the DFA board.

You are currently browsing the Davis Faculty Association blog archives for April, 2009.