Davis Faculty Association

CA Majority Rule Campaign Update

The DFA received the following message from the CA Majority Rule Campaign and are forwarding it on to our members:

Californians for Democracy CA Majority Rule Campaign Newsletter

Why We Can!

The California Democracy Act is the start of a movement in California to democratize the state, beginning with the state legislature. Most voters are not aware that the state’s problems stem from the fact that the majority of legislators, who are quite responsible, are controlled by a small minority, a situation that runs shockingly counter to the most fundamental of American values.

This is the only campaign that can change that situation. We intend, as well, to raise the issue of what government is about, not only in California, but in America – that it is the way that citizens protect and empower the entire citizenry. And we are building an infrastructure in the state to get those ideas out there, not only for this election and this issue, but wherever understanding democracy matters.

The reaction to our campaign so far has been positive and powerful. This is a chance for the average voter to actually change the future of the state. All we need is a majority of voters, the same majority that has already elected the sensible majority of legislators. We have found that this is a message that people, young and old, have been waiting to hear: You matter!

Can we get on the ballot? If enough people hear this message loud and clear. Will they? If enough people volunteer and contribute – and that takes leadership, in organizations large and small. If you and others dare to take the lead, we will win. But no matter what happens, these essential ideas will be out there for the future, and we will have an infrastructure to make sure they are heard.

Professor George Lakoff
Campaign Chair,
Californians for Democracy



When: Saturday January 16th;

11am – 1 pm – Speaker Training
1 pm – 2 pm – Petition Training


Denny’s Conference Room
10700 Jefferson Blvd.
(at the corner of Jefferson and Overland)
Culver City, CA  90230

Please join us for this important training for our speaker’s bureau and signature gathering efforts.

To RSVP, send an e-mail to susieanneshannon@yahoo.com


George Lakoff Speaking Schedule

Monday January 25th – San Francisco
UCSF Faculty Association Teach-In
The University of California, San Francisco, HSW-300
4:30 pm

Wednesday January 27 – Santa Rosa
North Bay Labor Council meeting
6 PM | 2525 Cleveland Ave
(corner of Steele & Cleveland)

Thursday January 28  – Danville
San Ramon Valley Democratic Club
Crow Canyon Country Club,
711 Silver Lake Dr., Danville, CA, 94526
6:45 PM.



Signature gathering has begun in counties throughout California.  Our goal is to collect 1.3 million signatures by mid-April to put the California Democracy Act on the November 2010 ballot.

With your help, we can change California’s future.

Please sign up to gather signatures at www.californiansfordemocracy.com

From tabling at the local farmer’s market to talking to neighbors outside the grocery store, we can get you started!

And please ask your friends and family to volunteer.

A petition coordinator will contact you to join a city or county team in your area.



California Council of Churches – California Church Impact
California Federation of Consumers
Campus Progressive Alliance – University of the Pacific
Campus Progressive Alliance (Sac State)
Center for Elders Independence
The Davis Faculty Association
Education For All
Endangered Habitats League
Los Angeles Coalition to End Hunger & Homelessness
Berkeley-East Bay Gray Panthers
Berkeley Fellowship Unitarian Universalists Social Justice Committee
Southern California Americans for Democratic Action
Region III of the Community College Student Senate
Sierra Progressive Alliance
California Common Cause

Elected Officials:

John Garamendi, US Congressman,
Bill Lockyer, Treasurer of the state of California
Darrell Steinberg, President ProTempore, CA Senate
Alberto Torrico, Assembly Member Majority Leader
Hector De La Torre, Assembly Member
Dave Jones, Assembly Member
Ted Lieu, Assembly Member
Steve Bradford, Assembly Member
Jenny Oropeza, Assembly Member
Julia Brownley, Assembly Member
Joan Buchanan, Assembly Member
Mike Davis, Assembly Member
Mary Hayashi, Assembly Member
Nancy Skinner, Assembly Member
Mark Leno, Assembly Member
Tom Torlakson, Assembly Member
Mark DeSaunier, CA State Senator,
Tom Hayden, Former CA State Senator
Susan Bonilla, Contra Costa County Supervisor,
Federal Glover, Contra Costa County Supervisor
Karlo Silbiger, Culver City School Board Member
Martha Parsons, City of Antioch Councilmember
Joyce R Starosciak, City of San Leandro Vice Mayor
Tim Sbranti, Dublin Mayor
Jim Frazier, Oakley Vice Mayor
Ben Allen, Santa Monica School Board Member
Kevin McKewon, Santa Monica City Council Member

For more endorsements, including individuals, please visit our website at www.californiansfordemocracy.com

This entry was posted on Monday, January 18th, 2010 at 10:10 am and is filed under Calls to Action, Working Together. You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0 feed. You can skip to the end and leave a response. Pinging is currently not allowed.

Leave a Reply